Go Behind the Spotlight

After a thrilling first year, Spotlight Dorado returns in 2023 to celebrate new Latino and Hispanic voices in film. Go backstage for an exclusive look at the second season of our short film competition.

Episode 5: On location from the moon, an alternate universe, and the pool next door!

Go on location with our three finalists.

Coming to a Screen Near You!

A precocious child who will stop at nothing to have the best summer ever; a modern retelling of the legend of the astronaut and the Native American; and a love triangle that crosses the boundary between the real and the virtual. Here’s your first look at the movie posters for Fancy Florez’s Summer Staycation, Cuando Volvimos a la Tierra and Chimera the three short films competing for the 2023 McDonald’s Spotlight Dorado grand prize.

Poster for Fancy Florez's Summer Vacation Spotlight Dorado Film by Marissa Diaz

Fancy Florez's
Summer Staycation

Directed by Marissa Díaz

Poster for Cuando Volvimos A La Tierra Spotlight Dorado Film by Pablo Riesgo

Cuando Volvimos
a la Tierra

Directed by Pablo Riesgo Almonacid

Poster for Chimera Spotlight Dorado Film by Kryzz Gautier


Directed by Kryzz Gautier

The Program

Spotlight Dorado is a multi-year platform created to empower and amplify aspiring Latino and Hispanic voices in film. We’re not just here to open doors, but to champion the creativity, talent and determination of Latino and Hispanic creators across the country.

How It Works


Who can participate:

The contest is open to all U.S.-based Latino writers, directors and producers,
including film school students, self-taught and independent filmmakers, and DACA recipients.

See the FAQ


Entering is Easy:

Pitch your screenplay and submit your materials using our entry form. 

Submit Your Script


The Process:

All submissions are judged by a panel of industry insiders and experts. Ten semifinalists will be contacted for interviews and thereafter 3 finalists will be selected. Each finalist will be given a budget to produce their short film. Three films will be submitted to a popular vote to determine the winner. 

See the Rules

Our Mentors

Spotlight Dorado finalists will receive guidance and mentorship from renowned film industry leaders as they bring their vision to life.

Headshot of Anthony Ramos

Anthony Ramos

Actor/Recording Artist

Headshot of Al Madrigal

Al Madrigal


Headshot Danay Garcia

Danay Garcia


Headshot of Carlos Lopez Estrada

Carlos López Estrada



Nancy Mejía


A screenshot of three filmmakers watching the surprise reveal that they were selected as finalists for the Spotlight Dorado 2022 film contest.

Spotlight on 2022

The inaugural year of Spotlight Dorado was a blockbuster success, with hundreds of talented Latino storytellers around the country submitting their short film scripts to the contest. Go behind the scenes with last year’s finalists!